Examination Committee

Become an ABOMS Examiner

Are you a Diplomate interested in furthering your participation with the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery? Join the ABOMS Examination Committee.

About the Examination Committee

Members of the ABOMS Examination Committee perform many duties specific to the Board Certification process. In addition to  participating as an Examiner and preparing cases for the Oral Certifying Examination (OCE), they are also responsible for submitting items for the Qualifying Examination (QE) and the Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery In-service Training Examination (OMSITE). The Board of Directors appoints new Examiners each spring following the OCE, and appointments are made for one-year terms. Applications must be submitted online by December 1st in order to apply for the Examination Committee. 

Examination Committee

Potential Examination Committee Members must meet the following criteria to be considered:

  • Be a Diplomate in good standing
  • Be an active Diplomate for at least 3 years
  • Pledge to maintain confidentiality
  • Demonstrate contemporary knowledge of oral and maxillofacial surgery
  • Submit an application with referral form from 2 current or previous Examination Committee members (no current Board members)
  • Have no former or pending actions against any dental or medical license

Examination Committee members are selected by the Board at each spring meeting. The online application process for the 2020-2021 Examination Committee will be available on Diplomate profiles August 5-December 1, 2019. 

Newly appointed Examiners serve as item writers for the ABOMS computer-based examinations and Certification Maintenance processes, also known as Junior Examiners. Individuals who serve in this role have the opportunity to be appointed as an Examiner to the Oral Certifying Examination based on their performance as a Junior Examiner. A Diplomate must serve a minimum of 2 years as a Junior Examiner to be considered as an OCE Examiner. Junior Examiners are marked with an asterisk on the Examination Committee listing. 

Meet the 2019-2020 Examination Committee 

Edward Adlesic

Pittsburgh, PA

John Allen

Pomona, CA

John Alonge

Erie, PA

Michael Beckley

Livermore, CA

Gary Bouloux

Atlanta, GA

Sidney Bourgeois

Manlius, NY

Tuan Bui*

Fargo, ND

Todd Brandt

Waynesboro, VA

Curt Cain

Georgetown, TX

Ronald Caloss

Jackson, MS

Lionel Candelaria

Albuquerque, NM

Vincent Carrao

Fort Lee, NJ

Angelle Casagrande*

Tucson, AZ

Paul Casmedes

Austin, TX

Guillermo Chacon

Puyallup, WA

Radhika Chigurupati

Boston, MA

Nam Cho*

Glendale, CA

Joseph Cillo

Pittsburgh, PA

Paul Ciuci

Milford, CT

Eugene D'Amico

Newark, DE

David Dattilo

Pittsburgh, PA

Valmont Desa

Omaha, NE

Robert Diecidue

Villanova, PA

Jasjit Dillon

Bellevue, WA

Donita Dyalram*

Baltimore, MD

Jeffrey Elo

Pomona, CA

Elie Ferneini*

Waterbury,  CT

Luis Ferrer-Nuin*

San Juan, PR

Steve Fletcher

Iowa City, IA

Pedro Franco

Irving, TX

Micheal Gentile

Chesapeake, VA

Tamer Goksel

Fort Campbell, KY

Christopher Haggerty

Lee's Summit, MO

Jon Holmes

Birmingham, AL

David Hunter

Southlake, TX

Raza Hussain*

Chicago, IL

Matt Jacks

Eugene, OR

Mark Johnson

New Bern, NC

Robert Julian

Fresno, CA

Kevin Kempers

Boise, ID

Kelly Kennedy

Columbus, OH


King Kim

Rockledge, FL

David Kirkpatrick*

Lakeland, FL

JD Kisella

Matthews, NC

Alia Koch*

Tenafly, NJ

Antonia Kolokythas

Rochester, NY

Deepak Krishnan

Cincinnati, OH

Carl Labella*

Helotes, TX

Edward Lahey

Boston, MA

Janice Lee

Bethesda, MD

Jesse Lee

Virginia Beach, VA

Susie Lin*

Nashville, TN

Killian MacCarthy

South Portland, ME

Stephen MacLeod

Maywood, IL

Amir Marashi

Charlotte, NC

Glenn Maron

Atlanta, GA

Suzanne McCormick

Encinitas, CA

Edward Miller

Hartsdale, NY

Brian Murphy*

Clinton Township, MI

Robert Nustad

Owatonna, MN

Alexis Olsson

Chicago, IL

Chan Park*

Oakland, CA

Daniel Perez*

San Antonio, TX

Julia Plevnia

Parker, CO

Jason Portnof*

Parkland, FL

Cory Resnick*

Boston, MA

Ramon Ruiz

Orlando, FL

Sara Runnels*

Walpole, MA

Thomas Schlieve*

Dallas, TX

Nathan Schroeder

Peoria, IL

Paul Smith

Pottstown, PA

Roger Spampata

Lansdale, PA

David Stanton

Philadelphia, PA

Randall Stastny

Cincinnati, OH

Marty Steed

Daniel  Island, SC

Larry Stigall

Boone, NC

Richard Szumita

Little Falls, NJ

Daniel Taub

Philadelphia, PA

Thomas Teenier

Corpus Christi

Jayson Terres

Tyler, TX

Paul Tiwana

Oklahoma City, OK

James Ward*

Pottstown, PA

Melvyn Yeoh*

Lexington, KY

* An asterisk next to a name means that the Examiner is a junior member of the Examination Committee. Junior Examiners are responsible for submitting computer based testing and Certification Maintenance questions and cases. Successful performance in this role allows an Examiner an opportunity to be selected by the Board to serve as an Examiner for the Oral Certifying Examination.


Our History and Mission

ABOMS has been in existence since 1945, serving as the only certifying board for the OMS specialty.

Learn More

In the Know

Stay in the know with everything going on at ABOMS and the field of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.

Learn More


Leadership Positions

Examination Committee

Sidney Bourgeois
Joseph Cillo
Tamer Goksel
Kelly Kennedy
Killian MacCarthy
Suzanne McCormick
Nathan Schroder
Paul Tiwana

Examination Committee Section Editors

Todd Brandt
Mike Gentile
Kevin Kempers
Deepak Krishnan

Examination Committee Content Experts

Gary Bouloux
Todd Brandt
Curt Cain
Jasjit Dillon
Pedro Franco
Tamer Goksel
Antonia Kolokythas
Robert Nustad
Alexis Olsson
Paul Tiwana